NWT Alert

NWT Alert is the Northwest Territories public alerting system developed to provide notices and alerts containing public safety related information to NWT residents and visitors. NWT Alert disseminates information to the public in three ways:

  1. NWT Alert Website;
  2. Alertable App; and
  3. For critical events where life and safety could be impacted, broadcast intrusive alerts can be issued on television, radio and wireless devices.

NWT Alert Website

The NWT Alert webpage provides information on Canada wide alerts, from Canada’s Alert Ready emergency alert system, severe weather alerts from Environment Canada, as well as any alerts issued by the Government of the Northwest Territories.

Alertable App

The same information found on the NWT Alert website can also be sent to your mobile device by using the “Alertable” App.  The Alertable App can be downloaded from both Google Play and Apple App Store. Users are able to personalize the Alertable App to issue notifications for events and areas of interest.

Alertable is a trustworthy and reliable smart emergency alert platform used by multiple local, regional, and territorial/provincial governments across Canada to inform more people of disasters and hazards.  Alertable is the only commercial emergency alerting platform that is fully integrated with Canada’s national public alert system, Alert Ready.

Broadcast Intrusive Alerts

The broadcast intrusive capability of this system enables the delivery of critical and potentially life-saving information to the public through television, radio and compatible wireless devices. Residents and visitors do not have to sign up for these alerts and due to the critical nature of the alerts, residents cannot opt out of receiving these alerts.

Broadcast intrusive alerts are reserved for those events where life and safety are under immediate threat and time is critical.

NWT Alert uses the national Alert Ready system to issue these broadcast intrusive alerts. Alert Ready was developed in partnership with federal, provincial and territorial emergency management officials, Environment Canada and the broadcast industry to ensure you receive alerts immediately and know when to take action to keep yourself and your family safe.

 

NWT Alert can be accessed by all GNWT departments for emergency public alerting promoting GNWT “single window” philosophy to providing citizens critical information and direction.

Types of Alerts

The different types of Alerts that Alertable sends are:

 

Critical Alerts

A Critical Alert provides necessary information when there is an immediate and threatening danger.  Some criteria include:

  1. There is a significant threat to people.
  2. The risk is immediate.
  3. The alert can provide critical or life-saving information.

Examples are wildfires, flash floods, landslides, hazmat incidents, and tornado.

 

Advisory Alerts

An Advisory Alert provides information to the public to help them prepare for a possible emergency or other disruptive event.  This might include the same types of events that would result in a Critical Alert but an Advisory might be sent beforehand to prepare, or after when there is important response and recovery information.  Other events might always be Advisories because they aren’t life-threatening, or the threat is to property only.

Examples include: high water, road closures, weather related incidents, and utility outages.

 

Links to FAQ, Website, etc.

NWT Alert website and FAQ:  https://nwtalert.ca

Alertable App for Android:  https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.artermobilize.alertable&hl=en_CA&gl=US

Alertable App for Apple products:  https://apps.apple.com/ca/app/alertable/id1277488940

Alert Ready:  https://www.alertready.ca/

NWT Alert

Alerte TNO est le système d’alerte au public des Territoires du Nord-Ouest créé pour diffuser des avis et des alertes de santé publique aux résidents des TNO et aux visiteurs. Alerte TNO diffuse l’information au public de trois façons :

  1. Site Web d’Alerte TNO
  2. Application Alertable
  3. Pour les situations de crise qui présentent une menace pour la sécurité ou la vie des personnes, des alertes intrusives peuvent être diffusées à la télévision, à la radio et sur les appareils mobiles.

Site Web d’Alerte TNO

La page Web d’Alerte TNO (www.NWTAlert.ca) donne de l’information sur les alertes à l’échelle du Canada, notamment En Alerte, le système d’alerte d’urgence du Canada, les alertes météo d’Environnement Canada et les alertes émises par le gouvernement des Territoires du Nord-Ouest.

Application Alertable

L’information disponible sur le site Web d’Alerte TNO peut également être envoyée sur votre appareil mobile grâce à l’application Alertable. Vous pouvez la télécharger sur Google Play et Apple App Store. Il est possible de personnaliser l’application pour recevoir des notifications sur certains événements et régions en particulier.

Alertable est une plateforme d’alerte d’urgence intelligente fiable et digne de confiance utilisée par de nombreux gouvernements locaux, régionaux, territoriaux et provinciaux de l’ensemble du Canada pour informer les gens au sujet des catastrophes et des dangers. Alertable est la seule plateforme d’alerte d’urgence commerciale entièrement intégrée à En Alerte, le système d’alerte public national du Canada.

Alertes intrusives diffusées à la télévision, à la radio ou sur les appareils mobiles

La fonction d’alerte intrusive de ce système permet de donner au public de l’information cruciale susceptible de sauver des vies par l’entremise de la télévision, de la radio et d’appareils mobiles compatibles. Les résidents et les visiteurs n’ont pas à s’abonner à ces alertes et ne peuvent pas refuser de les recevoir compte tenu de leur importance.

La diffusion d’alertes intrusives est réservée aux événements qui présentent un danger immédiat pour la sécurité et la vie du public et où il faut avertir le public le plus rapidement possible.

Alerte TNO utilise le système national En alerte pour diffuser ces alertes intrusives. Le système En alerte a été élaboré en collaboration avec des responsables de la gestion des urgences des trois paliers gouvernementaux (fédéral, provincial et territorial) ainsi qu’avec Environnement Canada et l’industrie de la radiodiffusion et de la télédiffusion pour garantir la transmission immédiate des alertes et pour que vous sachiez à quel moment agir pour assurer votre sécurité et celle de votre famille.

Alerte TNO est à la disposition de tous les ministères du GTNO pour les alertes d’urgences publiques, ce qui s’inscrit dans sa philosophie de « guichet unique » pour offrir de l’information et des directives importantes aux résidents.

Types d’alertes

Alertable envoie différents types d’alertes :

 

Alertes critiques

Une alerte critique fournit l’information nécessaire en cas de danger immédiat. Voici certains critères :

  1. Menace importante pour les résidents.
  2. Risque immédiat.
  3. L’alerte peut fournir de l’information cruciale ou susceptible de sauver des vies.

Exemples : feux de forêt, crues soudaines, glissements de terrain, déversements de matières dangereuses et tornades.

 

Avis

Une alerte de la catégorie « avis » donne de l’information pour aider les gens à se préparer à une urgence potentielle ou à un autre type d’événement perturbateur. Il peut s’agir du même type d’événements qui entraînent une alerte critique, mais l’avis est envoyé à l’avance pour laisser le temps aux gens de se préparer, ou après l’événement, pour transmettre de l’information importante sur l’intervention et le rétablissement. D’autres événements peuvent toujours faire partie de la catégorie « avis », car ils ne constituent pas une menace pour la vie, seulement pour la propriété.

Exemples : crues des eaux, fermetures de route, incidents liés aux intempéries et pannes d’électricité.

 

Site Web et FAQ d’Alerte TNO : https://nwtalert.ca

Application Alertable pour Android : https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.artermobilize.alertable&hl=en_CA&gl=US

Application Alertable pour les produits Apple : https://apps.apple.com/ca/app/alertable/id1277488940

En alerte : https://www.alertready.ca/