# **2024 COMMUNITY GOVERNMENT ELECTION DATES**

# February 13, 2024 Hamlet Election:

• Enterprise – mayor and half of the councillors (three) to a two-year term, and one councillor to a one-year term.

### May 6, 2024 Hamlet By-election:

• Enterprise – four councillors: two councillors to a two-year term, and two councillors to a one-year term.

# October 21, 2024 Towns and Village Election:

- Fort Simpson full council (mayor and eight councillors) to a three-year term;
- Fort Smith full council (mayor and eight councillors) to a three-year term;
- Hay River full council (mayor and eight councillors) to a three-year term;
- Inuvik- full council (mayor and eight councillors) to a three-year term; and
- Norman Wells full council (mayor and six councillors) to a three-year term.

# December 9, 2024 Hamlets Election:

- Aklavik half of the councillors (four) to a two-year term;
- Enterprise half of the councillors (three) to a two-year term;
- Fort Liard full council (mayor and six councillors) to a three-year term;
- Fort McPherson mayor and half of the councillors (four) to a two-year term;
- Fort Providence mayor and half of the councillors (four) to a three-year term;
- Paulatuk mayor and half of the councillors (four) to a three-year term;
- Sachs Harbour mayor and half of the councillors (three) to a two-year term;
- Tuktoyaktuk -half of the councillors (four) to a two-year term; and
- Ulukhaktok mayor and half of the councillors (four) to a two-year term.

Please note that Fort Resolution and Tsiigehtchic are under public administration, and a date has not been set for their next general election.

### Note:

Municipal Elections in the Northwest Territories are conducted in accordance with provisions under the *Local Authorities Elections Act*. These municipalities have the option of changing the length of their term and follow either the *Charter Communities Act*, *Cities, Towns and Villages Act, Hamlets Act*, or the *Tlicho Community Government Act*.