Fire Service Merit Awards

 Nominate Online Now

Nomination Deadline - September 10, 2019

What is it?

Every year, during Fire Prevention Week (the week containing October 8th), the Minister of Municipal and Community Affairs announces the recipients of the Fire Service Merit Awards.

Fire Service Merit Awards are presented to individual firefighters and/or community fire departments that have made significant contributions to the Northwest Territories’ fire service and community fire protection.

An Honours designation may also be awarded annually in recognition of an individual and/or community fire departments’ contribution to the fire service on a territorial basis.

If you know of a fire fighter or fire department that deserves special recognition, please submit a nomination to MACA.


All community fire departments, volunteer and paid firefighters in the NWT are eligible to receive a Fire Service Merit Award or an Honours Fire Service Merit Award.

How do I Nominate Someone?

Any member of the public may nominate individual firefighters and/or community fire departments for a Fire Service Merit Award however individual firefighters cannot nominate themselves.

Nomination forms are also available at MACA regional offices and community government offices.

Fire Service Merit Awards Nomination Form